Philip Venables

Metamorphoses after Britten

Metamorphoses after Britten are just that: four miniatures, each inspired by one of Benjamin Britten’s Six Metamorphoses after Ovid for solo oboe. Each movement, over its short course, transforms gradually from one thing to another, ending, with the exception of Fountains, in a short, cathartic coda. Some of the movements also take specific musical elements from Britten’s pieces.  I very much viewed these pieces as musical Haiku, and in that sense I hope they embody a sense of peace, brevity and simplicity.

The oboe version of Metamorphoses after Britten is dedicated to Melinda Maxwell.

Metamorphoses after Britten was written for Melinda Maxwell for UYMP’s Signals volume of new music for oboe. It was first performed by Melinda at York University on 24th November 2010.

Versions are available for saxophone and bassoon.

Duration: 8 minutes

I – A mountain
II – Fixation
III – Flowers
IV – Fountains

Buy score/parts